Skip links

Become a qualified property professional with MOL’s range of property programmes

We are proud to announce that we are working with the Council for Licensed Conveyancers.

How to Become a Conveyancer

Conveyancers have the privilege of helping somebody acquire their own home or land, by giving them guidance and peace-of-mind during one of the most stressful, yet exciting, moments of their lives.

The question is: How do you become a Conveyancer?

Our ‘SQA’ qualification, which is approved by the Council for Licensed Conveyancers (CLC), can open the doors to you taking the first steps into an exciting career of Licensed Conveyancing. Whether you are hoping to take your career in a different direction, or you're looking for new opportunities, our Level 4 and Level 6 qualification can guide and support you in achieving your aspirations. 

As the course is delivered online, making use of our live online expertise, you can study at your own pace, in your own time, to ensure you get the most out of your studies. The flexible approach to studying means that you can have the choice of studying all five units over a period of two years, or choose to study one unit at a time, in 12 month blocks, meaning you can study at your own pace to fit in with your life commitments. 

Q: What is involved in a Conveyancer role?

Licensed conveyancers are property law specialists who work on behalf of clients buying or selling property (houses, flats, business premises or land) in England and Wales. As a conveyancer, you will deal with all legal matters, administration, finance and queries involved in a property transaction.

Once students have become a licensed conveyancer they become holders of the 'first licence', which allows them to offer services through an employer.

Q: What basic qualifications do I need before I enrol on the course?

Before you start thinking about taking a Diploma, you will need the following qualifications in order to qualify to access the online course:

You'll usually need at least 4 GCSEs at grades 9 to 4 (A* to C) including English or English literature, to begin studying CLC exams. You may be accepted without the minimum qualifications if you have experience of working in a solicitor's or licensed conveyancer's office.*

Q: What is the SQA Level 4 Diploma:

The Level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice is open access, so you don't need any prior qualifications to achieve it.

To achieve a complete qualification, you can choose to either sign up to all five units and commit to completing these over two years, or you could choose to sign up to the units one by one and complete them over a 12 month timeframe. 

By studying all units of Level 4 or 6, you will receive access to our online Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) to help you in fulfilling your course. If you would prefer to only do some of the units available, a year-long access to our VLE will be accessible for each unit for which you enrol. You will also receive free tutor support via a forum, and access to webinars, all of which will support you in your learning. 

It’s also worth noting that, if you have done another law course you may get exemptions – see our website or phone the course enquiries on 03452 032 103 for more details. The units in Level 4 are:

  • The English Legal System
  • Law of Contract
  • Land Law
  • Understanding Accounting Procedures for Conveyancing Transactions
  • Standard Conveyancing Transactions

If you want to find out more about our Level 4 Diploma, click here

Q: What is the SQA Level 6 Diploma

Once you have attained the Level 4 qualification, you will be eligible to further your studies to achieve a Level 6 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice. This level will demonstrate an impressive standard of knowledge and professionalism to your clients and others within the industry. Level 6 has only 3 units to complete and will allow you to practice as a qualified Conveyancer:

  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Conveyancing law and Practice
  • Managing Client and Office Accounts

If you want to find out more about our Level 6 Diploma, click here

In summary 

Step one – do you have the necessary exams to qualify?
Step two – call us
Step three – choose your method of study 
Step four – Start studying Level 4
Step five – Commence studying Level 6 

How We Help

If you would like more information about our Conveyancing Law and Probate Practitioner courses, or you would like to start your journey of becoming a conveyancer with MOL Learn, please complete our contact form or call one of our Programme Advisors to discuss 03452 032 103

*Source: National Careers Service

Request more information

If you would like to receive information on our products and services please select your preferred contact method(s):

You can read more information about how MOL uses your personal information by reading our privacy policy here.

Corporate Programmes

Find out how MOL can support your organisation

Find out more

We are part of the largest not for profit learning enterprise of its kind.
This means we reinvest our resources to help you the learner, rather than pay dividends to shareholders.